Picture Polish BlogFest 2013: Wicked Spikes and Tutorial!

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails
WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

First things first: if you haven’t heard of piCture pOlish, click HERE to check them out.  These wondrous Aussie polishes have adorable names, slogans, and are in cute bottles. Go, buy!

Vote by checking out the Pinterest board at http://pinterest.com/picturepolish/picture-polish-launch-board/

And then enter your vote HERE: https://www.picturepolish.com.au/index.php?route=information/information&information_id=10

WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

I am so pleased to have the honor of participating in this year’s piCture pOlish BlogFest! The theme is “Year of the Blogger.” This 24 hour nail art extravaganza takes place on the interwebs with bloggers all over the world – and best of all, there are prizes to be won!

One award will be chosen, through likes on the Pinterest board linked above, by YOU!!! One award will be chosen through votes by participants, and one will be given out by the two lovely ladies of piCture pOlish, Jules and Megs!

Winners get to collaborate on shades of polish with PP! How cool would that be! I’m drooling just thinking about it!

I was sent three colors by piCture pOlish to play around with, create a manicure, and bring you a step by step tutorial.

WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

My shades were o’hara – for the Scarlett in all of you! marine – deeper & deeper see the blue sea, and nude – dare to bare flash some flesh.  Oh, what fun I had playing with these! I will probably show you some other nail art using them in the days to come…

1I began by painting my nails with Nude and allowing them to COMPLETELY dry.  I cut triangles out of plain old Scotch tape as shown above…

2…and stuck them on my nail to form wicked spikes! Although I’ve seen something similar done by Nailside, this was my first attempt!

3I painted my tips using O’Hara, making sure the tape was snug before painting all the exposed nail.

4I peeled the tape off RIGHT AWAY (this is the key to getting clean lines, don’t wait for the polish to dry!) and voila!

5After waiting for that polish to dry (you don’t want to peel the polish off with the next layer of tape!), I applied triangles of tape again, this time overlapping the spikes as shown above.  Keeping the lines even is the hardest part of this!  I painted that section with Marine and peeled the tape off right away again.

92

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

Squee! I love the way these turned out.  My accent nail is simply one (YES ONE!) coat of O’Hara with topcoat and three nail art spikes glued on.  The spikes are from Selena of PinkURock.com!

WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

I used 3 thin, easy coats of Nude to reach full, even coverage on my nails, but both O’Hara and Marine were easy one-coaters!

WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

I used the same technique on my thumb, but spaced the spikes out to create…teeth?  An EKG reading?  Who knows!

WickedNails.wordpress.com IG @wickednails

WickedNails.wordpress.com
IG @wickednails

A HUGE thank you to piCture pOlish for selecting me to participate in this contest and receive these lovely colors to try out and create with!  Please let me know if you try this technique, there are so many things you can do with it!  And if you ever want to be able to own a truly WICKED shade of piCture pOlish, I will need your help!  Head over and vote!

http://pinterest.com/picturepolish/picture-polish-launch-board/

<3 Rylee

piCture pOlish where to buy: Click HERE for international shipping, or Click HERE for their network of distributors!

piCture pOlish Facebook: Click HERE!

piCture pOlish Instagram: Click HERE!

piCture pOlish Twitter: Click HERE!

piCture pOlish YouTube: Click HERE!

piCture pOlish Pinterest: Click HERE!

18 thoughts on “Picture Polish BlogFest 2013: Wicked Spikes and Tutorial!

  1. Great mani, I love it! Thanks for sharing. :)

  2. so much love for this mani!!

  3. Lacqueerisa says:

    ahh i love how your nail art is screaming “boom boom pow!!” :D Very nice! The spikes also went really well! Love it! ♥

  4. love it !!! well done and well think !

  5. I love this! You got the perfect shades for this kind of manicure…so beautiful! And the spikes add the perfect edge =)

  6. sugaryummy says:

    It’s sooooo awesome ! I’m totally in love with your nails !

  7. kazz1n says:

    I love this! Will definately try with some colours I already own :)

  8. Jas says:

    Love it! Looks amazingly fabulous :)

  9. cocosnails says:

    god this is fabulous! perfect combo of colors!!!

  10. I looove these! I wish I had the patience for taping – I seem to be terrible at cutting in straight lines haha but I so dig the sharpness it gives. You did such a great job!

    • wickednails says:

      Thanks! The impatience had stopped me before too but if you just pluck off like a 4 inch piece of tape, you can just nip in at the sides at an angle and there is your point! Then cut each point off at the bottom. That way you only have to make one cut and get a great angle! That was tough to explain. Hopefully if makes sense!

  11. jordie says:

    wow, these look like it took so much work!1! but so worth it, came out great

  12. These are stunning! :)

  13. Love how intrequite these look. Amazing what you can do with scellotape! X

  14. I like the colour combo :)

Leave a Reply

