Guest Post by Michelle from Laquerlicious: Be An Original!

BeAnOriginalBe An Original. This vinyl wall art is in the room where I brainstorm and create polish. After I put it up my husband said, “Who’s Bean Original?” He’s a peach. Anyway, I have always had this mentality. I’ve always been a leader, never a follower. I’ve always had my own style, my own opinions and my own way of doing things. I’m not trendy. I’m actually quite the opposite. I will go out of my way to NOT have or not do the same thing as someone else.

The unique world of indie polish has opened doors I never thought were possible. I thank brands like Girly Bits and Lynnderella for paving the pathway to allow me to be creative and do something I love – AND actually have an audience that appreciates it and wants it. I try my hardest to be an original at polish making. I try my very hardest to never imitate, duplicate or recreate another polish that has been made. Now, I have always said that because there are a limited number of suppliers for glitter, there will be polish makers that will inevitably have similar polish. Although we all have our own “style” (I LOVE glitter bombs!), we will sometimes come up with something similar to another makers work. This (I want to believe) is unintentional.

I am extremely disappointed to see brands being blatantly copied that CLEARLY had the upper hand on a certain polish. It’s almost as if it’s an unspoken “copyright” when an indie polish maker comes up with a unique idea. Other makers that have any sense know you don’t touch that idea. Don’t get me wrong – There’s no “law” that says you can’t buy/use a certain glitter that another polish maker has already used BUT to intentionally recreate that polish is absolutely unacceptable!! Copying another maker shows no couth, no standards, no integrity, zero creative skills and just flat out no respect for fellow makers. Paying any sort of attention in this indie polish world (which we should be doing at ALL times), we know damn well who does what, who makes what and who came out with what FIRST. Indie polish has a HUGE following but at the same time we are a tight knit little community. Most of us are supportive of one another. We are encouraging and we recognize a job well done. What we DON’T do is tolerate other makers copying polish. Just because a maker created a “successful polish” does not make it okay for another maker to copy (even in the slightest!!!) that “successful polish”. Get your OWN ideas! Be An Original!!!

Remember folks, I’m speaking only for myself. This is my opinion and mine alone. It doesn’t mean it’s right or it’s wrong. It just means it mine.

Thanks for an amazing guest post Michelle!  I have made so many great friends through the indie polish community, and it is disappointing when we don’t all stick together!  Check out Michelle’s INCREDIBLE polish by clicking HERE!!

Leave a comment and tell us about your passion!

❤ Rylee

2 thoughts on “Guest Post by Michelle from Laquerlicious: Be An Original!

  1. Michelle says:

    Thank you Rylee!! <3<3<3

  2. Selena says:

    I couldn’t agree more!!!

Leave a Reply

